Junior Eurovision

BTRC confirms venue for Junior Eurovision 2018

BTRC has confirmed the venue where the Junior Eurovision Song Contest is set to take place in 2018. Belarus will host the event for the second time inside the Minsk Arena, venue of the 2010 edition.

The Belarusian broadcaster has announced that Minsk Arena will be the venue for the next year’s children contest that will take place on November, 2018 in Minsk. The Minsk Arena has a capacity of  15,000 spectators and it’s part of a big complex that also features a smaller stadium and a velodrome for 2,000 spectators.

BTRC has revealed that the Organisational Committee has been approved and it will be headed by Deputy Prime Minister Vasily Zharko.

Minsk was selected to host Junior Eurovision 2018 a few months ago, after a voting of the steering group members. To ensure the longevity of the contest and allow more time for preparations, they decided to remove the clause of the Rules that gave the winning broadcaster the right to host the contest. This decision makes the first time since 2012 that the winning country of Junior Eurovision will not have the right to host the contest the following year.

Jon Ola Sand, the EBU’s Head of Live Events said: “The rule change to allow a host for next year’s competition to be chosen earlier not only gives the host broadcaster longer to prepare what is a huge production but also protects the future of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. BTRC’s application to host was extremely strong, and we have full confidence that they will put the same enthusiasm into the preparations of next year’s event.”



  1. Avatar


    November 23, 2017 at 16:06

    Remember when Jon Ola Sand pointed out that smaller venues “are the way forward”? The regular Minsk-Arena (aka the 2010 venue) has 15,000 seats, so maybe the 2018 edition can use the speed-skating facility (3,000 seats). 🙂

  2. Pingback: When is the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018? – ESCplus

  3. Pingback: #LightUp! EBU unveils logo and slogan of Junior Eurovision 2018 – ESCplus

  4. Pingback: Official: 19 countries will compete at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018, check them now! – ESCplus

  5. Pingback: Azerbaijan and Israel return to Junior Eurovision – ESCplus

  6. Pingback: Junior Eurovision: Albania, Australia, Poland and Portugal will travel to Minsk – ESCplus

  7. Pingback: Ukraine joins Junior Eurovision 2018 line-up! – ESCplus

  8. Pingback: Tickets for Junior Eurovision 2018 go on sale – ESCplus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top