Junior Eurovision

Ukraine joins Junior Eurovision 2018 line-up!

The news has spread out a few minutes ago as a big surprise as UA: PBC had confirmed its non-participation in Minsk due to an internal financial crisis

A few weeks ago, the broadcaster announced to ESCplus its withdrawal from the competition without ruling out a “come-back” if their financial situation changed, which has eventually happened.

Ukraine is the 20th country that will finally step onto the stage of this year’s Junior Eurovision. UA:PBC will be making an appearance following Anastasiya Baghinska‘s respectable 7th place in Tbilisi last year. This fact marks that a record of countries will be shaping up this year’s competition making it the biggest amount of countries which has ever participated since the beginning of the contest in 2003.

The record-breaking list of countries features the same participants of the last year’s edition except for Cyprus, which has withdrawn from the competition, three returning countries: France, Azerbaijan, Israel and two debuting ones, Kazakhstan and Wales:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC / SBS)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI) – Return
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • France (France TV) – Return
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Israel (KAN) – Return
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency) – Debut
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)
  • Wales (S4C) – Debut

The 16th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place on November 25 at the Minsk Arena in Belarus.

1 Comment

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    To Top