Norway: Melodi Grand Prix 2022 participants announced! Listen to the songs

Norwegian broadcaster NRK has announced this morning in a press conference the artists who will participate at this year’s Melodi Grand Prix, the preselection format where the next Norwegian representative for the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest will be chosen.

Unlike previous editions, NRK has decided to present all contestants at the same time, both those who will go through the semi-finals and those who are direct finalists. These are the artists that the broadcaster selected by internal decision and who, therefore, will have a guaranteed place in the Grand Final scheduled to take place on February 19:

  • NorthKid – “Someone” (Written by Helge Moen, Alex Charles, Sandra Lyng and Jim Bergsted)
  • Subwoolfer – “Give That Wolf a Banana” (Written by Keith and Jim)
  • Christian Ingebrigtsen – “Wonder Of The World” (Written by Christian Ingebrigtsen, Michael Hunter Ochs and Henrik Tala)
  • Anna-Lisa Kumoji – “Queen Bees” (Written by Olli Äkräs, Alan Roy Scott, Elsbeth Rehder and Anna-Lisa Kumoji)
  • Elsie Bay – “Death of Us” (Written by Elsa Søllesvik, Jonas Holteberg Jensen and Andreas Stone Johansson)

These finalists automatically qualified will be joined by 6 other artists who will compete in the semi-finals to gain one of this six places for the Grand Final.

SEMI-FINAL 1 – 15th January

  • Mira Craig – “We Still Here” (Written by Mira Craig and Bård Berg)
  • Frode Vassel –Black Flowers” (Written by Frode Vassel, Benjamin Larsen, Niklas Rosström and Celine Alette Pedersen Breivoll)
  • TrollfesT – Dance Like a Pink Flamingo” (Written by Eirik Renton and Jostein Austvik)
  • Eline Noelia – “Ecstasy” (Written by Eline Noelia Myreng, Audun Agnar Guldbrandsen and Tea Megaard)

SEMIFINAL 2 – 22th January

  • Lily Löwe – “Bad Baby” (Written by Lill Sofie Wilsberg, Trond Holter and Victoria Land)
  • Steffen Jakobsen –With Me Tonight” (Written by Mats William Wennerberg and Nicolai Herwell)
  • Farida – “Dangerous” (Written by Farida Bolseth Benounis, Rasmus Simon Vedvik Thallaug og Atle Pettersen, Peter Newman andHannah Dorothy Bistow)
  • Daniel Lukas – “Kvelertak” (Written by Daniel Lukas Kalelic and Are Næsset)

SEMIFINAL 3 – 29th January

  • Mari Bølla – “Your Loss” (Written by Lars Horn Lavik, Morten Franck and Mari Eriksen Bølla)
  • Oda Gondrosen –Hammer Of Thor” (Written by Morten Franck, Elsa Søllesvik, Torgeir Ryssevik and Oda Kristine Gondrosen)
  • Sturla – Skår i hjertet” (Written by Sturla Fagerli Larsen)
  • VILDE – “Titans” (Written by Vilde Johannessen, Ben Adams and Sindre Timberlid Jenssen)

SEMIFINAL 4 – 5th February

  • Alexandra Joner –Hasta la vista” (Written by Henrik Sæter and Jazara Aden Hutton)
  • Maria Mohn – “Fly” (Written by Maria Mohn and Einar Kristiansen Five)
  • Kim Wigaard – “La Melodía” (Written by Kim Wigaard Johansen, Marius Hagen, Karianne Sissener Amundsen and Ronny Janssen)
  • Sofie Fjellvang – Made Of Glass” (Written by Sofie Fjellvang and Kjetil Mørland)

One winner from each semi-final will pass to the Grand Final of Melodi Grand Prix 2022. Fifth and sixth tickets for the Grand Final will be decided in a second chance show that will take place on February 12, where previously eliminated candidates will have the opportunity to rejoin the list of finalists of this year’s MGP. The public will be in charge of choosing the two additional qualifiers from all the non-qualified semi-finalists.

No audience for a second year

All shows will be broadcast live from the H3 Arena in Fornebu, just outside the Norwegian capital Oslo. Although the initial plan of NRK was to celebrate the spectacle with audience, the evolution of the Covid-19 pandemic forced them to change their initial idea.

Last year TIX represented Norway at Eurovision 2021 after winning Melodi Grand Prix 2021 with his song “Fallen Angel”. His entry prevailed over the rest of the night’s competitors and relegated KEiiNO, the Norwegian representatives at Eurovision 2019, to a second position in the Melodi Grand Prix 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.