First Eurovision Choir of the Year took place in Riga

The first edition of the Eurovision Choir of the Year was held last weekend in Riga, the capital of Latvia. 9 countries took part in this brand new event of the Eurovision Family which was won by Carmen Manet from Slovenia.

The Slovenian ensemble, made up of female voices, performed three compositions, “Ta na Solbici”, “Adrca” and “Aj, zelena je vsa gora”. You can watch their act below:

Each participating country was given up to 6 minutes to perform in front of a three-person jury panel, which was responsible for selecting the winner. The panel of experts was made up of mezzo-soprano Elīna Garanča (Latvia), composer John Rutter (United Kingdom) and orchestra conductor Nicolas Fink (Switzerland).

The songs each choir performed could include one or several pieces which reflected their respective national or regional character in some way. You can find the list of participants and the songs they performed below:

Country Choir Song(s)
 Estonia Estonian TV Girls’ Choir “Absolute Tormis”
 Denmark Academic Choir of Aarhus “I Seraillets Have”
 Belgium Les Pastoreaux “Dans la troupe”
 Germany Jazzchor Freiburg “African Call”
 Slovenia Carmen Manet “Ta na Solbici”
“Aj, zelena je vsa gora”
 Hungary Bela Bartok Male Choir  “Karádi nóták”
 Wales Côr Merched Sir Gâr “O, Mountain, O”
“Traditional Welsh Lullaby”
“Wade in the Water”
 Austria Hardchor Linz “Ave Maria”
“I tua wos i wü”
 Latvia Spīgo “Grezna saule debesīs”
“Es čigāna meita biju”


This was the first time Wales took part in a Eurovision Family of Events production. Moreover, three non-participating countries announced they would broadcast the contest, Albania, France and Serbia.

After the competition, the top three was revealed by the organisers:

  1. Slovenia
  2. Wales
  3. Latvia

About the Eurovision Choir of the Year:

The Eurovision Choir Of The Year was conceived in partnership between Interkultur – the organisers of the World and European Choir Games – and the European Broadcasting Union – the organisers of, amongst others, the Eurovision Song Contest – and with the commitment of Latvian Television (LTV) as Host Broadcaster and LIVE RĪGA.

The World and European Choir Games are the most prominent international competitions for amateur choirs, and the EBU has reached an agreement to integrate a new recurring Eurovision competition into the event, to take place on the main stage immediately before the closing ceremony, where 200 choirs will gather. This guarantees a large international audience and an electric atmosphere, following the global trend of increasingly popular a cappella music.


The Trophy of the 2017 Eurovision Choir Of The Year (

You can watch the Eurovision Choir Of The Year 2017, hosted by Eric Whitacre and Eva Johansone, below:

The next edition of the Eurovision Choir of the Year is expected to take place in 2019, as Eurovision Young Musicians and Eurovision Young Dancers.

Did you like the newest addition to the Eurovision Family of Events? What do you think about the winner? Let us know in comments!

About Belén García (Spain)

Belén García (Spain)

My name is Belén. I’m a musician and English teacher from Spain.

I have been following Eurovision since I was only 11 and the junior version since the beginning (expert of this contest). I love Eurovision because I love discovering new songs every year.

Before ESC+Plus, I have been part of very well-known websites about (Junior) Eurovision. Apart from writing, I love taking professional photos, designing and editing videos, I’m very creative!

I have already traveled to Eurovision and Junior Eurovision a few times and I highly recommend it! =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Send this to friend