Young Musicians

Today: Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 continues in Edinburgh – Finalists to be revealed tonight

The 19th edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians continues today live from Edinburgh, United Kingdom. After a strong deliberation, the expert panel will reveal the six finalists at 20.45 CET.

Semi-Final Day 2

The Second Semi-Final Day of the Eurovision Young Musicians will be divided into three shows or semi-finals in which three musicians will perform for 18 minutes each. You can find the running order and the pieces for today’s recitals below:

SHOW 1 – Semi-Final 4 (15.00 CET)

Estonia: Tanel-Eiko Novikov (Percussion)

  • Niflheim by Marján Csaba Zoltán
  • Kuusi Op 75/5 by Sibelius
  • Verano porteño by Piazzolla

Belgium: Alexandra Cooreman (Violin)

  • Presto from Sonata for piano and violin Op 23 by Beethoven
  • Valse-Scherzo by Tchaikovsky

Albania: Klaudio Zoto (Cello)

  • Cello Sonata by Grieg
  • Hungarian Rhapsody by Popper

SHOW 2 – Semi-Final 5 (17.00 CET)

Russia: Ivan Bessonov (Piano)

  • Mazurka in B flat minor, Op 24 No 4 by Chopin
  • Fantaisie-Impromptu in C sharp minor, Op 66 by Chopin
  • Prelude in G minor, Op 23 No 5 by Rachmaninov
  • Barncleupédie by James MacMillan

Germany: Mira Foron (Violin)

  • Cadenza by Ravel
  • Tzigane by Penderecki

Czech Republic: Indi Stivín (Double Bass)

  • Bohemian Suite by Stivín

SHOW 3 – Semi-Final 6 (19.00 CET)

Sweden: Johanna Ander Ljung (Harp)

  • Improvisations for Harp, Op 10 by Mathias
  • Allemande from Suite No 5 in F by Loeillet
  • Féerie – Prelude et Dance by Tournier

Norway: Birgitta Elisa Oftestad (Cello)

  • 1st mvt from Cello Concerto No 1 by Shostakovich
  • Adagio and Allegro by Schumann

Croatia: Jan Tominić (Saxophone)

  • Fantaisie sur un thème original by Demersseman
  • Cinq danses exotiques by Françaix
  • Aria by Bozza
  • Brasileira from Scaramouche by Milhaud


An expert committee, made up of  British bassoonist Ursula Leveaux, Spanish percussionist Noè Rodrigo Gisbert, Korean pianist Sinae Lee, and the chair cellist and conductor David Watkin, will watch both semi-finals and will award points out of 10 based on a specific criterion (Technical Accuracy, Quality of Sound, Interpretation and Performance). All the points will be summed and the musicians will be ranked with the top six making it through to the final concert after a deliberation and unanimous agreement.

The name of the qualifiers will be revealed in a random order today at 20.45 CET after the Sixth Semi-Final.


The final of the Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 will take place on August 23. All six finalists will perform for up to 12 minutes accompanied by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. A different expert panel will decide the winner of the competition, who will be awarded a special trophy, a cash prize of 7.000 euros and a performance opportunity with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Moreover, the runner-up will receive a cash prize of 3.000 euros.

You can watch the Second Semi-Final Day of the Eurovision Young Musicians 2018, hosted by Petroc Trelawny, from 15.00 CET on YouTube.

Eurovision Young Musicians 2018
Sweden: Johanna Ander Ljung - Harp
Spain: Sara Valencia - Violin
Hungary: Máté Bencze - Saxophone
Israel: Tamir Naaman - Pery - Cello
Czech Republic: Indi Stivin - Double bass
Russia: Ivan Bessonov - Piano
San Marino: Francesco Stefanelli - Cello
Albania: Klaudio Zoto - Cello
Malta: Bernice Sammut - Piano
United Kingdom: Maxim Calver - Cello
Estonia: Tanel Eiko-Novikov - Percussion
Belgium: Alexandra Cooreman - Violin
Slovenia: NiKola Pajanovic - Violin
Croatia: Jan Tominic - Saxophone
Poland: Marta Chlebicka - Flute
Greece: Tanos Tzanetakis - Guitar
Germany: Mira Foron - Violin
Norway: Birgitta Elisa Oftestad - Cello
Number of voters: 65
Young Musicians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.