Russia wins Eurovision Young Musicians 2018

Pianist Ivan Bessonov from Russia has just won the nineteenth edition of the Eurovision Young Musicians. Six finalists competed at today’s final concert that was broadcast live from Edinburgh’s Usher Hall. The violinist Nikola Pajanović from Slovenia was the runner-up of the contest. 

A total of eighteen performers competed at the nineteenth edition of the Eurovision contest for young musicians, but only six of them got the chance to perform at today’s final concert.

Today all six finalists performed for up to 12 minutes accompanied by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Thomas Dausgaard:

  1. Norway: Birgitta Elisa Oftestad (Cello) – 4th mvt from Cello Concerto by E. Elgar
  2. Slovenia: Nikola Pajanović (Violin) – 3rd mvt from Violin Concerto by P.I. Tchaikovsky
  3. Czech Republic: Indi Stivín (Double bass) – 2nd and 3rd mvt from Bohemian Suite for Double Bass by I. Stivín
  4. Germany: Mira Foron (Violin) – 3rd mvt from Violin Concerto by J. Sibelius
  5. Hungary: Máté Bencze (Saxophone) – Concerto da Camera for Saxophone by J. Ibert
  6. Russia: Ivan Bessonov (Piano) – 3rd mvt from Piano Concerto No. 1 by P.I. Tchaikovsky

The winner was selected by an expert panel made up of chair cellist and conductor David Watkin, who was a judge in the semifinals, classical composer and conductor Sir James MacMillan, musician and conductor Marin Alsop, composer, producer and performer Anna Meredith and Head of Music for the Edinburgh International Festival, Andrew Moore.

The Prizes

The winner of the Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 was awarded a special trophy, a cash prize of 7.000 euros and a performance opportunity with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra. Moreover, the runner-up received a cash prize of 3.000 euros.

Did you miss the final? Watch it below!

Do you like the winner of the Eurovision Young Musicians 2018? Who was your favourite?

Russia, Young Musicians

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.