Junior Eurovision

Junior Eurovision: Minor changes made to voting process

EBU has published further details about the voting process for this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The system will remain the same, but minor changes will be made to adapt it to the low number of countries taking part.

As in previous editions, the winner of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2020 will be selected by the public via online voting and the professional jury made up of kids and adults. However, this year, the public will only be able to vote for 3 songs and, when the points are announced, the spokespersons might not only reveal the 12 points, but also the 8 and 10.

As usual, 50% of the result will be decided by juries in each participating country and 50% by an online vote which will open on Friday 27 November. Audiences will be asked to vote for just their 3 favourite songs online rather than 3 to 5 as in previous years, stated the EBU.

13 countries will take part at this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest, which will take place on 29th November at TVP’s headquarters. Germany will participate in Junior Eurovision for the first time ever. Sadly, we won’t see Australia, Albania, Wales, Italy, Ireland, Portugal and North Macedonia competing this year due to the difficult situation happening around the world, but they’re expected to come back in the near future.

Unlike previous years, this year’s performances will be broadcast pre-recorded. Most of the participants will record their performances in their own countries, while others will travel to Poland to do so. The show, which will be hosted by Ida Nowakowska, Małgorzata Tomaszewska and Rafał Brzozowski, will start an hour later, at 17.00 CET.

Source:  EBU
Junior Eurovision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.