Junior Eurovision: Amy McGrath wins last Irish semi-final

The last semi-final of the Irish national selection for Junior Eurovision has just come to an end revealing us the name of the next finalist, Amy McGrath.

Amy McGrath, who was selected by the jury panel, is competing at the Irish selection with the song “M’Aingeal”:

A total of 8 candidates competed at today’s show, but only two of them went through to a sing-off where the winner of the semi-final was decided:

  1. Stephanie Byrne – Go dtí an Ghealach (Naas, Co. Kildare)
  2. Amy McGrath – M’Aingeal (Ballina, Co. Mayo)
  3. Danny McGahey – Marú na hOíche (Letterkenny, Co. Donegal)
  4. Lucy Hood – Dathanna den Nadúr (Ballyroan, Co. Laois)
  5. Eva Kavanagh – Irrus Domnann (Hacketstown, Co. Carlow)
  6. Arabella Dolan – Ag Seoladh Mo Ghrá Chugat (Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin)
  7. Aisli Moran & Jennifer Nelson (Ash & Jen) – Mo Chailíní (Dublin)
  8. Lasairfhíona de Brún – Fan Liom (Cork) (Sing-Off)

Once again, an expert panel will be responsible for selecting the best voice and song for Junior Eurovision. This year, however, the jury panel will be little bit different as the resident judges, Fiachna Ó Braonáin and Pauline Avalon, will be joined each week by a guest judge from Ireland’s Eurovision past. Today, the guest jury member was Niamh Kavanagh, who represented Ireland at Eurovision 1993 (winner) and 2010.

Find the list of current finalists below:

  • Walter McCabe – “Las Do Sholas”
  • Zena Donnelly – “Bríce Ar Bhríce”
  • Clióna Nic Dhomhnaill – “Ag Seasamh Le Mo Réaltaí”
  • Amy McGrath – “M’Aingeal”

A second chance is expected to be given to two or one of the non-qualifiers being awarded with a place at the grand final. Last year, they weren’t revealed until the final broadcast, so let’s hope they announce them in the next few days.

What do you think about the fourth Irish finalist? Let us know in comments!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top