Italy: Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro win Sanremo 2018

Italian karma talked by itself! But the answer has not been unveiled yet: is the winner keen on representing the nation in Lisbon? The answer is YES!

It’s such a blast: after a week full of original and pure Italian music, the 2018 Sanremo music festival has just come to an end inside the Ariston Theatre. The 20 acts in the Big Artists category have performed at today’s show, but only one of them had the right to get the big prize and the right to represent Italy at the Eurovision Song Contest, as stated in the rules.

Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro has been declared the winners of the 68th edition of Sanremo Festival with the song “Non Mi Avete Fatto Niente” after two voting rounds. It is yet to be confirmed whether the artists accept the invitation to represent the country at this year’s contest in May or should RAI decide for the task another act among the remaining 19 who competed.

Big Artists Sanremo 2018 line-up was made up by:

  • Nina Zilli – Senza Apartenere
  • Roby Facchinetti & Riccardo Fogli – Il Segreto Del Tempo
  • The Kolors – Frida
  • Diodato & Roy Paci – Adesso
  • Mario Biondi – Rivederti
  • Lucia Barbarossa – Passame Er Sale
  • Lo Stato Sociale – Una Vita In Vacanza
  • Annalisa – Il Mondo Prima Di Te
  • Giovanni Caccamo – Eterno
  • Enzo Avitabile & Peppe Servillo – Il Coraggio Di Ogni Giorno
  • Ornella Vanoni, Bungaro & Pacifico – Imparare Ad Amarsi
  • Renzo Rubino – Custodiare
  • Noemi – Non Smettere Mai Di Cercarmi
  • Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro – Non Mi Avete Fatto Niente
  • Le Vibrazioni – Così Sbagliato
  • Ron – Almeno Pensami
  • Max Gazzè – La Leggenda Di Cristalda E Pizzomunno
  • Decibel – Lettera Dal Duca
  • Red Canzian Ognuno Ha Il Suo Racconto
  • Elio E Le Storie Tese – Arrivedorci

The winner of Sanremo 2018 has been selected after two voting rounds including a super-final. In the first round, the results were decided by a combination of the votes awarded by the public televote (40%), demoscopic jury (30%) and the press (30%). The top 3 of the scoreboard, achieving the highest scores of the first voting round, competed in a superfinal in which the points were reset:

  1. Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro – Non Mi Avete Fatto Niente
  2. Lo Stato Sociale – Una Vita In Vacanza
  3. Annalisa – Il Mondo Prima Di Te

Then, lines were open over again and the act with the most votes following the previous combination was named the winner of this year’s well-known Italian music festival.

Once again, the artist who wins the “Campioni” (Big Artists) category of Sanremo 2018 gets the right to represent Italy at the Eurovision Song Contest. However, Ermal Meta & Fabrizio Moro do not need to accept the invitation to perform in Lisbon, so just in case they decline to perform at Eurovision, RAI will internally choose another artist, whose name would be announced shortly. Although the broadcaster has not released any official statement regarding Meta & Moro’s participation in Lisbon, they singers confirmed they will represent Italy in May.

In 2015, group Stadio won this category, but their choice was not to present their song to the wider European audience in Stockholm due to touring commitments. Instead, the runner-up Francesca Michielin was chosen to perform at Eurovision with her song “Nessun Grado Di Separazione” (“No Degree Of Separation”).

Sanremo 2018 has been hosted by Claudio Baglioni, Pierfrancesco Favino and Michelle Hunziker.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top