Highlights of San Marino’s candidates for Eurovision 2018

1in360 has started uploading the candidate entries that will fight to represent San Marino at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018. SMTV will select its next Eurovision representative for the first time externally, through a revolutionary national selection method.

As you may have noticed, there is a place for everyone in the Sammarinese national selection. However, some entries seem to have been submitted by fake applicants that have uploaded performances of their favourite singers or video editings.

You can find a few familiar faces below:

Some of the artists mentioned have publicly confirmed their participation in the Sammarinese national selection, but others haven’t revealed anything about it. So, their applications might have been sent under a fake identity.

Revolutionary national selection for San Marino:

San Marino will select its next Eurovision representative for the first time externally, so all interested candidates from the country and Europe can send their videos of them performing songs on the official website of 1in360, original tracks will also be considered. The submissions will be open from October today to November 30, 2017. A few days after the application period is closed, a professional jury panel of 1in360 will shortlist ten entries that will compete in the first out of the seven live recorded shows that will be aired online and via satellite TV. Up to three of the ten candidates will be selected by a wildcard procedure whose details can be found here. It’s interesting to highlight that some parts of the shows will be filmed and broadcast in 360 and virtual reality.

The winners of each show will be decided by a mix of jury decision and televoting. The three candidates with the most votes in the live shows will be given original songs selected internally in consultation with them to compete in the national final, which will take place by the end of February.  The overall winner, which will be selected by public vote, will be given the right to represent San Marino in Lisbon and a record deal.

The expert panel:

Zoe StraubMåns Zelmerlöw and Dave Berry make up the expert panel that will judge the candidate entries during the shows. Zoe Straub, known as Zoë, represented Austria at the Eurovision Song Contest 2016 with the song ‘Loin d’ici’, she finished 13th at the Grand Final. Måns Zelmerlöw is the Swedish singer, presenter, and model that won the Eurovision Song Contest 2015 with the song ‘Heroes’, he also hosted the contest in 2016. Dave Berry is a Radio DJ and TV presenter from London, England.

Do you have any favourites among the submissions received so far? Let us know in comments!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top