Eurovision Eurovision 2024

Eurovision 2024’s Second Semi-Final Unveiled: Participants, Mechanics, Schedule, and How to Watch the Show

Sixteen Countries compete for the 10 Spots in Eurovision 2024's Grand Final on Saturday, May 11th

The Eurovision week rolls on in Sweden, following Tuesday’s thrilling first semi-final. The Malmö Arena is poised for the second semi-final, arguably the most intense and fiercely contested of the two, boasting several favourites, including Switzerland, currently ranked second in the betting odds. It’s also a slightly more competitive semi-final with one more country participating, making it a total of 16, compared to the first semi-final’s 15.

Which Countries Compete in Eurovision 2024’s Second Semi-Final?

In the draw held on January 30th, 16 countries landed in this semi-final. Exceptionally, Israel requested to perform in this semi-final as their national holiday coincided with the first semi-final on May 7th.

Due to this year’s novelty, the Big Five (Spain, United Kingdom, France, Italy, and Germany) and the host country (Sweden) will perform their full acts during their respective semi-finals. In this second semi-final, France, Spain, and Italy, as direct finalists, will perform without competing. They will then perform again in the grand final on Saturday, May 11th, vying for victory.

After the first and second halves of the semi-final were drawn, the organizers determined the performance order as follows:

01MaltaSarah Bonnici“Loop”
02AlbaniaBesa Kokëdhima“Titan”
03GreeceMarina Satti“Zari”
04SwitzerlandNemo“The Code”
FINALISTFranceSlimane“Mon Amour”
06AustriaKaleen“We Will Rave”
10San MarinoMegara“11:11”
11GeorgiaNutsa Buzalade“Firefighter”
12BelgiumMustii“Before the Party is Over”
13Estonia5MIINUST x Puuluup“(Nendest) Narkootikumidest Ei Tea Me (Küll) Midagi”
FINALISTItalyAngelina Mango“La Noia”
14IsraelEden Golan“Hurricane”
16NetherlandsJoost Klein“Europapa”

As with the first semi-final or the grand final, Petra Mede (Swedish comedian and TV presenter, who also hosted Eurovision 2013 and was one of the presenters in Eurovision 2016) and Malin Åkerman (Swedish actress and singer-songwriter) will host.

What’s the Mechanics for Eurovision 2024’s Second Semi-Final?

In this semi-final, only the public can vote (100% televoting) from the 16 participating countries, as well as from Spain, France, and Italy. Additionally, the “Rest of the World” will vote, representing countries not participating, counted as if it were another country.

Following the sixteen performances, a voting period will open. At the close of the voting window, the 10 countries randomly selected to advance to the grand final on Saturday, May 11th, will be announced.

Which Guest Artists Will Perform?

During the voting period, to keep the anticipation lively, we’ll once again enjoy several interval acts. For the first time ever, viewers will be invited to sing along from home! Anyone who wishes to participate can do so remotely through an interactive television wall. The organizers will provide instructions on how to participate through their official social media channels.

Specifically, the audience will be invited to sing classic Eurovision songs alongside three of its most popular winners: Helena Paparizou, winner of Eurovision 2005 with “My Number One”, the renowned Turkish singer Sertab Erener, who won Eurovision 2003 with “Everyway That I Can”, and the Swedish singer Charlotte Perrelli, celebrating the 25th anniversary of her victory in Eurovision 1999 with “Take Me To Your Heaven”.

Additionally, we’ll be treated to a special performance by one of the presenters, Petra Mede, in a musical style titled “We Just Love Eurovision Too Much”, taking us on a journey through the festival’s history. Joining her in this performance will be the Swedish singer Charlotte Perrelli once again. To wrap up the performance, Käärijä, Finland’s representative in Eurovision 2023 with the song “Cha Cha Cha”, who returns to the Eurovision stage a year later after becoming an icon of the festival, topping the televoting and securing 2nd place in the grand final, will make an appearance.

And the final guests to close this semi-final are the Swedish trio Herreys, who represented Sweden in Eurovision 1984 and emerged victorious with the song “Diggi-Loo Diggi-Ley”.

What Time and Where to Watch Eurovision 2024’s Second Semi-Final?

Alternatively, without commentary in any language, you can follow the event on YouTube on the official Eurovision channel. The show will start at 21:00 CET.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.