Eurovision 2018: Semi-Final Allocation Draw details revealed

Today EBU has revealed further details of this year’s Eurovision Allocation Draw that will take place on 29 January at 13.00 CET. This event will also feature the traditional insignia exchange between the Mayor of Lisbon Fernando Medina and Kyiv City Mayor Vitaliy Klychko.

The 2018 Allocation Draw will be broadcast live from the City Hall of Lisbon and it will be hosted by Sílvia Alberto and Filomena Cautela.

Lisbon City Hall – by parasight

How It Will Work

The first part of the draw will determine in which semi-final each of the six pre-qualified countries (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, the United Kingdom and host country Portugal) will broadcast and vote. The second draw will decide in which half of the respective Semi-Finals each country will perform; the exact running order will be determined by the producers of the show at a later date.

From each Semi-Final, ten countries will go through to the Grand Final on 12 May, joining the six pre-qualified countries (Big 5 + host country Portugal). As a result, a total of 26 countries will compete in the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2018, which will take place on May 8, 10 and 12 May in Lisbon, Portugal.

RTP and EBU have decided that 19 countries will compete in the First Semi-Final, while the Second Semi-Final will feature 18 participants.

The Pots

As in previous years, the participating countries have been allocated into six different pots based on historical voting patterns calculated by the official voting partner Digame.

You can find the pot allocation below:

The Eurovision 2018 Allocation Draw will be broadcast live on 29 January at 13.00 CET below:

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top