Eurovision Choir

10 countries to compete at Eurovision Choir of the Year 2019 in Gothenburg

EBU has announced that 10 countries will take part at the second edition of Eurovision Choir of the Year, which will take place on August 3, 2019 at Partille Arena in the Swedish city of Gothenburg.

Eurovision Choir of the Year was launched in 2017 in Riga, Latvia, gathering vocal groups from 9 countries. The Slovenian choir Carmen Manet won the competition.

The 2019 edition will feature a record number of 10 countries:

  • RTBF (Belgium)
  • France Télévisions (France)
  • WDR (Germany)
  • LTV (Latvia)
  • NRK (Norway)
  • BBC (Scotland)
  • RTV (Slovenia)
  • SVT (Sweden)
  • RTS (Switzerland)
  • S4C (Wales)

The rules of Eurovision Choir of the Year are simple, each amateur choir must perform for 4 minutes in any genre without accompaniment. Vocal groups should be make up of 4 – 45 members. The winner is selected by a professional jury panel.

Blending spectacular staging and a live stadium ambience with eclectic and profound musical performances from a wide range of traditions and cultures, Eurovision Choir will again take viewers on a colourful journey across Europe in search of the continent’s pre-eminent amateur vocal group., said the European Broadcasting Union.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top