Ukraine wins Eurovision 2016!

Eurovision 2016 has just come to an end and the winner of this year’s edition has just crowned. Jamala from Ukraine has just taken the crystal microphone live from Stockholm!

A total of 42 countries have been competing in all the three shows that have formed this year’s Eurovision edition held in the Stockholm’s Globe Arena, but only 26 of them went through to the Grand Final show:

01 BelgiumLaura Tesoro“What’s The Pressure”
02  Czech RepublicGabriela Gunčíková“I Stand”
03  The NetherlandsDouwe Bob“Slow Down”
04  AzerbaijanSamra Rahimli“Miracle”
05  HungaryFreddie “Pioneer”
06  ItalyFrancesca Michielin “No Degree Of Separation”
07 IsraelHovi Star“Made Of Stars”
08  BulgariaPoli Genova“If Love Was A Crime”
09  SwedenFrans“If I Were Sorry”
10  GermanyJamie-Lee Kriewitz“Ghost”
11  FranceAmir“J’ai cherché”
12 PolandMichał Szpak“Color Of Your Life”
13  AustraliaDami Im“Sound Of Silence”
14  CyprusMinus One“Alter Ego”
15 SerbiaSanja Vučič “Goodbye”
16  LithuaniaDonny Montell“I’ve Been Waiting for This Night”
17  CroatiaNina Kraljić“Lighthouse”
18  RussiaSergey Lazarev “You Are The Only One”
19  SpainBarei “Say Yay!”
20  LatviaJusts“Heartbeat”
21 UkraineJamala“1944”
22  MaltaIra Losco“Walk on Water”
23 GeorgiaNika Kocharov y Young Georgian Lolitaz“Midnight Gold”
24  AustriaZoë“Loin d’ici”
25  United KingdomJoe y Jake“You’re Not Alone”
26  ArmeniaIveta Mukuchyan“LoveWave”


After an exciting new voting procedure this is how the final scoreboard looks:


How was the winner chosen?

Viewers from all the countries taking part in Eurovision 2016 were invited to vote via the official app, telephone and/or SMS. The voting window was be open after the last song had been performed, and ended around 15 minutes later. Televoters determined 50% of the outcome while professional juries did so with the other half of the voting combination according to the performances of yesterday’s Jury Semi-Final show.

The Grand Final of Eurovision 2016 was hosted by the last year’s Eurovision winner Måns Zelmerlöw and comedian Petra Mede. Today’s final featured for the first time the worldwide pop star Justin Timberlake performing as guest of the show. All viewers were also able to enjoy several comedy sketches about the history of Eurovision, including the appearance of the Swedish comedian and singer Linda Woodroof (Sarah Dawn Finer). The hosts of the show performed a parody song of past Eurovision stagings at the end of the show featuring Alexander Rybak (2009) and Mr Lordi (2006).

Stay tuned to our social accounts for live reports from Stockholm:

How do you feel about the final ranking? Do you think this is a deserving winner? Let us know in comments!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top