Ukraine: STB reveals 24 hopefuls for national selection

After a wildcard selection process, organizers of the Ukrainian national selection together with producer and composer Konstantin Meladze have determined the 24 acts that will take part at the semi-finals of the national song competition for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, where the winner will eventually represent the nation on home-soil. This production will be set up by private TV company STB and public broadcaster NTU as it happened last year.

The line-up for the semifinals of the 2017 Ukrainian national selection is made up by:

  • ArsenMirzoyan
  • Mila Nitich
  • VitalyKozlovsky
  • Salto Nazad
  • Green Grey
  • Vivienne Mort
  • Payuschie Trusi
  • Anastasia Prudius
  • O.Torvald
  • Roma Veremeichik and LUMIER group.
  • MamaRika
  • Laliko
  • Letay
  • Panivalkova
  • S.K.A.I.
  • Monochromea
  • KUZNETSOV – Winner of the wildcard process which received 11.820 votes.

Melazde assured that selection time was “intense, exciting and challenging” and the jury based on the variety of the songs but the quality to choose the entries, which are fresh and promising and represent the wide range of modern music in Ukraine and could overcome last year’s level, where it is possible to recognise either familiar and popular artists as well as newcomers among the names. Romanova, Ukrainian HoD and ESC 2017 producer, also wanted to say the nation expects an entry on the same level as Jamala and that’s why the organizers have decided to set up the whole thing to its maximum point.

On Friday, the 20th of January, the draw for the running order in the semifinals on February 4, 11 and 18 will take place. The artists will know in which place they will ready to sing off.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.