Eurovision Choir

Tonight: Watch the second edition of Eurovision Choir

Tonight 10 countries will take part in the second edition of Eurovision Choir at Partille Arena in the Swedish city of Gothenburg.

Eurovision Choir was launched in 2017 in Riga, Latvia, gathering vocal groups from 9 countries. The Slovenian choir Carmen Manet won the competition.

The 2019 edition will feature a record number of 10 countries:

  1. Sweden (Zero 8 – Khourmi / Hej, dunkom så länge vi levom)
  2. Belgium (Almkalia – Made in Belgium)
  3. Latvia (Maska – Pērkontēvs)
  4. Germany (BonnVoice – O Täler weit / Die Gedanken sind frei)
  5. Norway (Volve Vokal – Ønskediktet)
  6. Denmark (Vocal Line – True North)
  7. Scotland (Alba – Cumha na Cloinne / Ach a’ Mhairead / Alba)
  8. Slovenia (Jazzva – Spomenčice)
  9. Switzerland (Cake O’Phonie – Chante en mon cœur / La sera sper il lag / Poï / Le ranz des vaches / La ticinella / Beresinaliedet / Chanson d’ici)
  10. Wales (Ysgol Gerdd Ceredigion – Cúlna / Ar Lan y Môr)


The rules of Eurovision Choir are simple, each amateur choir must perform for 4 minutes in any genre without accompaniment. Vocal groups need to be made up of 4 – 45 members.

The event is combined with the Opening Ceremony of the European Choir Games, which take place in Gothenburg, Sweden. The show will be hosted by the BBC’s Petroc Trelawny and SVT’s Ella Petterson and commented on by Sweden’s Katarina Henryson, conductor John Rutter and US producer and arranger Deke Sharon.


Blending spectacular staging and a live stadium ambience with eclectic and profound musical performances from a wide range of traditions and cultures, Eurovision Choir will again take viewers on a colourful journey across Europe in search of the continent’s pre-eminent amateur vocal group., said the European Broadcasting Union.

The winner is selected by a professional jury panel. You can watch the Eurovision Choir broadcast on ESCPlus at 20.30h CET. h


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top