Tonight: Festival da Canção 2020 kicks off in Portugal

Today RTP will broadcast the first semi-final of Festival da Canção 2020. Portugal will select their Eurovision representative from their traditional festival one more time. 14 acts will compete for the big prize over three weeks of shows.

For this year’s edition, 14 selected songwriters were asked to present an original unpublished song for the contest. In addition to these 14 entries, two more slots were available for public submissions. The first public slot was selected through the “Master Class” radio program on station Antena 1, while the second one was chosen from all the applications received on the RTP’s official website.

The running order for today’s semifinal is as it follows:

  1. MEERA – Copo de Gin
  2. Filipe Sambado – Gerbera Amarela do Sul
  3. Ian Mucznik – O Dia de Amanhã (João Cabrita)
  4. Bárbara Tinoco – Passe-Partout (Tiago Nacarato)
  5. Blasted – Rebellion
  6. Elisa – Medo de Sentir (Marta Carvalho)
  7. JJaZZ – Agora (Rui Pregal Da Cunha)
  8. Throes + The Shine – Movimento

Four acts will go through each semifinal after an equal combination of votes from the public and a professional jury. At the final, seven regional panels of judges will decide the outcome alongside the Portuguese televoters.

6 hosts will guide the viewers through this year’s Festival da Canção 2020. Tânia Ribas de Oliveira and Jorge Gabriel will host the first semifinal, Sónia Araújo and José Carlos Malato the second one, while the Eurovision 2018 host Filomena Cautela and Vasco Palmeirim will present the final. Inês Lopes Gonçalves will be the Green Room host.

You can watch the First Semi-Final of Festival da Canção live from RTP’s studios at 23.00 CET on our Multi-Window Live Feed.

Festival da Canção 2020 - Semi-final 1

Blasted – Rebellion372
Elisa – Medo de sentir327
Bárbara Tinoco – Passe-partout320
Throes + The Shine – Movimento247
MEERA – Copo de gin222
J.Jazz – Agora191
Filipe Sambado – Gerebera amarela do sul190
Ian Mucznick – O dia de amanhã166

Number of voters: 36
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top