Junior Eurovision

Laura Baszkiewicz will represent Poland at Junior Eurovision 2022 with “To The Moon”

After three weeks of competition, Polish public television (TVP) has broadcast this evening the grand final of its ”Szansa Na Sukces-Eurowizja Junior 2022”, the selection process that for the fourth consecutive year has chosen the representative of Poland in the most famous children’s contest in Europe.

These are the four finalists of this edition, aspiring to represent Poland after reaching the grand final in their respective elimination rounds:

  1. Natalia Smás
  2. Laura Baczkiewicz
  3. Alexander Malag
  4. Ida Wargskog

In the end, Laura has won and will take over from Sara James on 11 December at the 20th edition of Junior Eurovision, trying to achieve with “To The Moon” Poland’s third victory in the history of the festival

You can re-watch the grand final of Szansa Na Sukces-Eurowizija Junior 2022 below:


The format ”Szansa Na Sukces” has throughout its history become one of the longest running programmes on Polish television. Since its first broadcast in 1993, the quiz show has positioned itself as one of the highest rated entertainment programmes on TVP

Since 2019 it has been linked to the election of the Polish representative at the Children’s Festival. However, in 2020 it was also the selection method by which Alicja Szemplińska would represent Poland at Eurovision in Rotterdam, the edition cancelled due to the COVID-19 health crisis.

The format consists of four televised galas: three semi-finals and a grand final. In the first three, a total of seven children try to defend different pieces of music selected at random with a theme previously established by the competition organisers. Once they have performed them, a jury made up of celebrities from the national music scene is in charge of determining which of them is the finalist.

The participants of each elimination round were rigorously selected through a series of auditions that took place on 14 and 15 May at the TVP headquarters in Warsaw.


In the Grand Final, broadcast live, the four finalists underwent two rounds. In the first round, each of the contestants performed a cover song according to the theme of their semi-final. These are the songs that we have been able to listen to again:

  1. Natalia Smás – “Rain On Me” (Lady Gaga and Ariana Grande)
  2. Ida Wargskog – “Arcade” (Eurovision 2019, Netherlands)
  3. Alexander Malag – “Somebody” (Junior Eurovision 2021, Poland)
  4. Laura Baczkiewicz – “Hold my hand” (Lady Gaga)

In the second round, Laura and Alexander, the two most voted finalists, took to the stage again with an unreleased song, composed by great Eurovision faces, nominated to represent Poland at Junior Eurovision:

  1. Laura Baczkiewicz – “To the moon”
  2. Alexander Malag – “On my way”

Moreover, unlike in the semi-finals, the audience played a key role. In this final gala, viewers could choose via phone call and/or SMS the best candidate to represent Poland at the children’s contest next December. The final decision was left in the hands of the televote and the jury, who decided the winner in case of a tie. This was the final result of the evening:

Final results of the second round of voting in the Polish grand final / Photo: TVP


Poland’s first participation in Junior Eurovision dates back to 2003, making it one of the debutants at the Song Contest. However, despite their enviable recent track record, Katarzyna Zurawik with the song “Cos mnie nosi” did not make it past the last position.

After more than ten years of absence due to poor results, the Polish delegation returned to the festival in 2016 and since then Poland has enjoyed a golden era at Junior Eurovision with two consecutive victories: in 2018 by Roksana Weigel with “Anyone I want to be” and the following year with Viki Gabor and “Superhero” as hosts. Last year, Poland was represented in Paris by Sara James‘ “Somebody”, who just missed out on her third win, just a few points behind the great Maléna Fox.

will they achieve their third victory this year?



On Sunday 11 December, the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2022 will take place, the 20th edition of the children’s contest in which European artists between the ages of 9 and 14 will fight for the crystal microphone. The Karen Demirchyan Complex in Yerevan will be the main stage for the second time.

Armenian public broadcaster ARMTV will once again host the festival eleven years later, as it did in 2011, in the midst of a collective euphoria following Maléna Fox’s victory in Paris with “Qami Qami”

With the return of the UK, a total of 17 countries have already confirmed their participation in Junior Eurovision 2022, including Spain and hosts Armenia. However, on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the children’s contest in 2022, the organisers are expecting a larger number of participants, in an attempt to make this 20th edition one of the most spectacular in its history

As of today, these are the participating countries that have already revealed an artist and/or song:

  • Georgia. Mariam Bigvava
  • Kazakhstan. David Charlin
  • North Macedonia. Lara and Irina
  • Netherlands. Luna – La festa”
  • Poland. Laura Baczkiewicz – “To the moon”
  • Portugal. Nicolas Alves
  • Ukraine. Zlata Dzyunka – Nezlamna”
Junior Eurovision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.