Latvia: LTV reveal Supernova 2017 candidates

LTV have revealed today the name of the candidates that will compete at this year’s edition of Supernova. This will be the third season of the Latvian national selection show that leaded the Baltic country to qualify for the Eurovision Grand Final two years in a row, after previous unsuccessful attempts.

A total of 22 acts will fight during the different live shows of Supernova 2017. From all 168 applications received, the broadcaster selected 40-50 which were invited to perform in front of a professional jury panel, made up of Petri Mannonen (Universal),  Matthias Miller (BMG), Fružina Zepa (Lollapalooza Berlin) and Joy Deb (co-writer of 2015 winning song “Heroes”).

After a long hard discussion time, the judges finally agreed that the following candidates had to go through:

  • Anna Zankovska, “Rage Love” (Music: Anna Zankovska, Lyrics: Agnese Upleja)
  • Crime Sea, “Escape” (Music: Crime Sea, Lyrics: Marija Mickeviča)
  • Edgars Kreilis, “We Are Angels” (Music: Edgars Kreilis, Lyrics: Edgars Kreilis)
  • First Question, “Naked” (Music: Mikus Tillers, Lyrics: Mikus Tillers)
  • Franco Franco, “Up” (Music: Kristīne Vaksa, Reinis Kārkliņš, Mārtiņš Spuris, Elizabete Vētra, Lyrics: Elizabete Vētra)
  • Katrīna Cīrule, “Blood Runs Quicker” (Music: Katrīna Cīrule, Lyrics: Katrīna Cīrule)
  • Katrine Lukins, “Silhouette” (Music: Katrine Lukins, Kārlis Indrišonoks, Andris Lūkins, Lyrics: Katrine Lukins)
  • Laura Lo pied. Chris Oak, “Little Weird” (Music: Laura Ločmele, Lyrics: Laura Ločmele)
  • Lauris Valters, “Magic Years” (Music: Lauris Valters, Lyrics: Lauris Valters)
  • Linda Leen, “Who Is In Charge” (Music: Linda Leen, Lyrics: Linda Leen)
  • Markus Riva, “Dynamite” (Music: Markus Riva, Lyrics: Markus Riva)
  • Miks Dukurs, “Spiritual Priest” (Music: Gints Smukais, Lyrics: Edijs Dukurs)
  • Miks Galvanovskis, “Runaway” (Music: Miks Galvanovskis, Lyrics: Miks Galvanovskis)
  • My Radiant You, “All I Know” (Mūzika: Jānis Driksna, Lyrics: Jānis Driksna)
  • Pikaso, “U (can Keep Your Cools)” (Music: Jānis Lipšāns, Jānis Aišpurs, Arnis Račinskis, Lyrics: Jānis Lipšāns)
  • Rock’n’Berries, “Feel the Love” (Music: Reinis Ašmanis, Oskars Millers, Lyrics: Jānis Narbuts)
  • Santa Daņeļeviča, “Your Breath” (Music: Santa Daņeļeviča, Lyrics: Santa Daņeļeviča)
  • THE HiQ, “Taju Ot Lyubvi” (Music: Kristaps Čimbars, Lyrics: Kristaps Čimbars)
  • The Ludvig, “I’m In Love With You” (Music: Jēkabs Ludvigs Kalmanis, Lyrics: Jēkabs Ludvigs Kalmanis
  • Toms Kalderauskis, “We Won’t Back Down” (Music: Gints Stankevičs, Lyrics: Kerija Kalēja )
  • Triana Park, “Line” (Music: Agnese Rakovska, Kristaps Ērglis, Kristians Rakovskis, Lyrics: Agnese Rakovska)
  • UP, “One by One” (Music: Agnese Upleja, Lyrics: Agnese Upleja)

The dates for Supernova 2017 can be found below:

  • Behind the Scenes 1: January 22
  • Behind the Scenes 2: January 29
  • Heat 1: February 5
  • Heat 2: February 12
  • Semi-Final: February 19
  • Final: February 26

Stay tuned for more information coming from Riga Bebrs’ homeland!

About Belén García (Spain)

Belén García (Spain)

My name is Belén. I’m a musician and English teacher from Spain.

I have been following Eurovision since I was only 11 and the junior version since the beginning (expert of this contest). I love Eurovision because I love discovering new songs every year.

Before ESC+Plus, I have been part of very well-known websites about (Junior) Eurovision. Apart from writing, I love taking professional photos, designing and editing videos, I’m very creative!

I have already traveled to Eurovision and Junior Eurovision a few times and I highly recommend it! =)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Send this to friend