Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 to be held today live from Cologne

The 18th edition of Eurovision Young Musicians will be held today live from Cologne (Germany).

Eurovision Young Musicians is a biennial competition for talented musicians up to 18 years organised by the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). A total of 11 countries will compete at this year’s edition which will be held in Roncalliplatz, situated in front of the iconic Cologne Cathedral. This is the third time Germany is hosting Eurovision Young Musicians, as they already organised the event in 2002 and 2014.

You can find the running order for the contest and the musical pieces to be performed by the participants below:

  1. Hungary: Roland Attila Jakab (Violin) – Zigeunerweisen op. 20, no. 1 (Pablo de Sarasate)
  2. Malta: Dmitry Ishkhanov (Piano) – Piano Concerto no. 3, op. 50, Allegro Molto (Dmitry Kabalevsky)
  3. Austria: Dominik Wagner (Double bass) – Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra, Allegro with cadenza (Serge Koussevitzky)
  4. Poland: Łukasz Dyczko (Saxophone) – Rhapsody pour Saxophone alto (André Waignein)
  5. Sweden: Eliot Nordqvist (Piano) – Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, op. 22, Andante sostenuto (Camille Saint-Saëns)
  6. Slovenia: Zala Vidic (Cello) – Rococo Variations, VI: Andante, VII e coda: Allegro Vivo (Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky)
  7. Croatia: Marko Martinović (Tamburica) Meditationen from the Opera Thaïs (Jules Massenet)
  8. San Marino: Francesco Stefanelli (Cello) Cello Concerto Nr. 1, Allegretto (Dmitri Shostakovich)
  9. Germany: Raul Maria Dignola (Horn) – Horn Concerto no. 2, Allegro Maestoso (Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)
  10. Czech Republic: Robert Bílý (Piano) – Piano Concerto, op. 38, Allegro Molto (Samuel Barber)
  11. Norway: Ludvig Gudim (Violin) Carmen Fantasie (Franz Waxman)

All contestants will perform on the big stage accompanied by the WDR Symphony Orchestra conducted by Clemens Schuldt.

The winner will be decided by a professional jury panel made up of professional musicians and experts Julian Rachlin (Chairman), Jonathan Cohen, Tine Thing Helseth, Andreas Martin Hofmeir and Alice Sara Ott. The jurors will also provide the contestants with comments on their performances and, as in Junior Eurovision, special prizes will be awarded to the second and third placed participants.

Follow Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 today, hosted by Daniel Hope & Tamina Kallert, at 20.00 CET by clicking here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top