Eurovision Eurovision 2024

Eurovision 2024: A total of 37 countries will compete in Malmö

A total of 37 countries will compete next year in the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Malmö (Sweden). The number of countries that will participate is the same as last edition in Liverpool (UK).

Up to 38 countries, if Romania finally confirms

This afternoon (05-12-2023) the European broadcasting Union finally revealed the long-awaited participants list of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, and on the list we can see that 37 countries are going to take the stage in Sweden in May next year.

Just like other recent years there will be two semi-finals in which 31 countries will compete, which will be on the 7th and 9th of May 2024. In the Grand Final, on May 11th 2024, the Big Five countries and last year’s victor, Sweden, will compete as well. 

Participating countries

Below you can find a list of the 37 competing countries of the 2024 contest; the list is in alphabetical order:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom

A closer look

Let’s have a closer look when it comes down to the participating countries of the upcoming 2024 edition of the contest.

  • The number of participants of the 2024 contest is the same as last year, 37.
  • Luxembourg returns to the contest in 2024 after a hiatus of 20 years.
  • There are no debuting countries in next year’s contest.
  • Although the participants list has been made public, Romania is still in talks with the EBU to compete in the 2024 edition.
  • North Macedonia and Montenegro will not compete in the contest, the last time they did was in 2022.

Look back at the Eurovision Song Contest 2023

The 2023 edition of the contest in Liverpool (United Kingdom) was one by Swedish Loreen with the song “Tattoo”. Loreen came in 2nd (of 15) in Semi-final 1, and eventually won the Grand Final. Loreen is the second artist to have won two times, and the first female artists to have won two times (Ireland’s Johnny Logan proceeded her). Their 2023 victory made Sweden the second country to have won the contest a whopping seven times, Ireland has also managed to do so before.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.