Eurovision Eurovision 2024

The Grand Final of Eurovision 2024 is tonight: Participants, Songs, Mechanics, Schedule, How to Vote, and How to Watch

26 participating countries out of the 37 that began this journey will vie for victory in the 68th edition of the European contest in this Saturday's final on May 11th starting at 21:00 CET.

The coveted and sought-after crystal microphone seeks an owner tonight from the Swedish city of Malmö.From the Malmö Arena, 26 songs will vie to become Europe’s, Australia’s, and the rest of the world’s favorite song.

Following the victory of the legendary Loreen last year in Liverpool, with her song “Tattoo,” we travel this year to Sweden, to the small city of Malmö, which once again serves as host for the third time in Eurovision history after doing so in 1992 and 2013.

The chosen venue is the Malmö Arena, a venue with a capacity for 15,000 spectators, which returns as the stage for Eurovision after having been so in 2013. This venue, inaugurated in 2008, is equipped with the latest sound and lighting technology. Additionally, it is located in a strategic area of the Swedish city, close to the airport, the train station, and the Emporia shopping center.

Who is participating in the Eurovision 2024 Grand Final?

A total of 26 countries will compete for victory. Ten of them come from the first semifinal, where Poland, Iceland, Moldova, Azerbaijan, and Australia were eliminated. Another ten come from the second semifinal, leaving Malta, Albania, Czechia, San Marino, and Belgium without qualification. And the last six spots, already directly qualified, belong to the BIG5 (Germany, France, United Kingdom, Italy, and Spain) plus the host country, Sweden.

01SwedenMarcus & Martinus“Unforgettable”
02Ukrainealyona alyona & Jerry Heil“Teresa & Maria”
03GermanyIsaak“Always On The Run”
05NetherlandsJoost Klein“Europapa”
07LithuaniaSilvester Belt“Luktelk”
09Estonia5MIINUST x Puuluup“(Nendest) Narkootikumidest Ei Tea Me (Küll) Midagi”
10IrelandBambie Thug“Doomsday Blue”
12GreeceMarina Satti“Zari”
13United KingdomOlly Alexander“Dizzy”
15ItalyAngelina Mango“La Noia”
16SerbiaTeya Dora“Ramonda”
17FinlandWindows95man“No Rules!”
20CyprusSília Kapsís“Liar”
21SwitzerlandNemo“The Code”
23CroatiaBaby Lasagna“Rim Tim Tagi Dim”
24GeorgiaNutsa Buzalade“Firefighter”
25FranceSlimane“Mon Amour”
26AustriaKaleen“We Will Rave”

The performance order was chosen by the EBU with SVT, the organizing television, always with the premise of ensuring the best possible show. This year, as a novelty, countries participated in a draw to determine where they could perform in the final, with three different options: 6 options for the first half, 6 options for the second half, and 13 at the discretion of the producers. With the exception of Sweden, which as the host country drew its place, getting the first place.

All this show needs capable hosts, and for this occasion, it relies on the star Malin Åkerman, a well-known singer and above all actress from Hollywood, and the guarantee of the experience of Petra Mede, the Swedish presenter and comedian who carries the weight of the show and moves like a fish in water, for the third time in this role.

What will be the mechanics of the show? When will the favorites to win Eurovision 2024 perform?

The grand final will begin at 21:00 CET from the Malmö Arena. Björn Skifs, a double representative for Sweden on two occasions, will be the person in charge of opening this spectacle. This will be followed by a flag parade, where in rehearsals, no flags have been seen.

When the presenters appear on stage and tell us about the usual Eurovision liturgy, one of the fundamental changes of this edition begins. The televote can start voting from the first song, so “Europe starts voting!” from the very beginning.

A show with a script full of comedic and entertaining moments, with a very dynamic pace with different gags between performances featuring numerous cameo appearances of familiar faces, which will delight all viewers.

After the performances, we will be able to enjoy an interval act in tribute to ABBA where we will see Eurovision stars Charlotte Perrelli, Carola, and Conchita Wurst on stage, and of course, the reigning double champion of Eurovision who will perform her winning song “Tattoo” and present her new single.

When and where to watch the Eurovision 2024 final?

The gala can also be followed on the official Eurovision YouTube channel from 21:00 CET without commentary and with the sound provided by the EBU to the television channels.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.