Eurovision Eurovision 2024 Latvia

Latvia: Dons wins Supernova and will represent Latvia in Eurovision 2024

It was revealed during the live broadcast on Saturday that singer Dons has won the final of the Latvian Television (LTV) song contest “Supernova”. He will represent Latvia in the second semi-final of the 68th Eurovision Song Contest on May 9th with his song “Hollow”.

In the final of the “Supernova” contest, following Dons, duo “Vēstulēs” secured the second place, while Katrīna Gupalo claimed the third place. In 4th place – Alekss Silvers, 5th – Saint Levića, 6th – Edvards Strazdiņš, 7th – Ecto, 8th – Avéi, 9th – Funkinbiz, and in 10th place – “Papīra lidmašīnas”.

3rdKatrīna Gupalo“The Cat’s Song”
4thAlekss Silvers“For The Show”
5thSaint Levića“Tick-Tock”
6thEdvards Strazdiņš“Rock N’ Roll Supernova”
9thFunkinbiz“Na Chystu Vodu”
10thPapīra Lidmašīnas“Mind Breaker”

Dons is an accomplished Latvian musician, having released nine albums to date. His musical achievements include winning several national radio song polls and receiving multiple Music Recording Awards. In 2021, he began a collaboration with Universal Music Group. Notable singles in his repertoire include “Pēdējā vēstule” (Last Letter), “Pāriet bailes” (Fear Passes), and “Salauzta sirds” (Broken Heart). Commenting on his song “Hollow”, the musician expressed himself with the words of the Latvian poet Imants Ziedonis: “It’s an awful lot of truth. One can fall if there’s none of their own.”

The winner of the “Supernova” contest was determined by the combined vote of the audience and the jury. Detailed voting results with jury-assigned rankings and audience ratings will soon be published by LTV. Due to security reasons, the composition of the contest jury will be announced by LTV in May, after the conclusion of the Eurovision Song Contest.

At this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, Latvia will present its song for evaluation in the second semi-final on May 9th. Alongside Latvia, Albania, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Greece, Georgia, Estonia, Israel, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, San Marino, and Switzerland are also set to participate in this round. The Eurovision final will take place two days later, on May 11th.

Eurovision, National Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.