Junior Eurovision: Ireland starts searching its 2015 act, watch the first semi-final tonight!

TG4, the Irish-speaking public broadcaster in the country, will broadcast tonight the first semi-final out of five shows set to pick the act who will wave the Irish flag at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Sofia, next November 21st.

Each of the shows will be broadcast from today’s Sunday until the final on November 8th. They have all been pre-recorded in September.

Tonight’s line up looks as it follows:

  • Amy Meehan
    Age: 13
    From: Manorcunningham, Co. Donegal
    Song title: Gan Tú
    Lyricist: Amy Meehan & Geraldine Galligan
    Composer: Amy Meehan & Tommy Conway
  • Eva Roantree
    Age: 15
    From: Templeogue, Dublin
    Song title: Geallaim Duit
    Composers & Lyricist: Eva Roantree & Gary Burke
  •  David Kennedy
    Age: 13
    From: Eyrecourt, Co. Galway
    Song title: Fuar
    Lyricist: David Kennedy
    Composer: David Kennedy & Emma O’ Reilly
  • Ellen McAteer
    Age: 15
    From: Monaghan Town
    Song title: Dubh Agus Bán
    Composer & Lyricist: Ellen McAteer
    Guitar & Vocals: Josh Phillips
    Drums: Cian O’Connor
  • Jessica Doolan
    Age: 11
    From: Rush, Co. Dublin
    Song title: Mise Sa Todhchaí
    Lyricist:Jessica Doolan
    Composer: Jessica Doolan & Hugh Doolan (Dad)
  • Katie O’Donoghue
    Age: 15
    From: Skerries, Co. Dublin
    Song title: Síscéal
    Lyricist & Composer: Katie O’Donghue & Ruby Fairclough
    Composer: Katie O’Donghue, Elsa Joyce & Jamie O’Donoghue
  • Lisa-Rose McMahon
    Age: 14
    From: Castleblayney, Co. Monaghan
    Song title: Bris Amach
    Lyricist: Lisa-Rose McMahon, Brendan McCaughey
    Composer – Lisa Rose McMahon, Brendan McCaughey & Carmel McGivney
  • Eva Campbell
    Age: 13
    From: Skerries, Co. Dublin
    Song title: I Mo Fhéileacán
    Lyricist & Composer: Eva Campbell & Leo Capper

The names of the jury members and the host that will be in charge of selecting the Irish first representative ever have also been revealed. Leaded by Niamh Kavanagh (Winner of Eurovision 1993 and also 2010 entrant), the panel will be completed with Brian Kennedy  (Ireland 2006), and Stiofán Ó Fearail from Seo Linn, the band behind the Coláiste Lurgan You Tube viral hits. Eoghan McDermott is leading the shows as the host.

The top two acts will make it through a final ”sing-off” and then, the panel will decide which of them is going directly to the final.

The show will be aired at 21:30 CET on TG4, you can watch it on-line on TG4’s live streaming by clicking HERE.

Stay tuned to for the latest news about Ireland at the Junior Eurovision in Sofia!

Ireland, Junior Eurovision, Junior Eurovision 2015

2 thoughts on “Junior Eurovision: Ireland starts searching its 2015 act, watch the first semi-final tonight!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.