Denmark: Get to know the 10 competing acts at Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017

It looks like DR is on it again to win Eurovision and achieve its 4th victory in the history of the contest. This year, the country accepted submissions from June 6th 2016 until the 5th of September 2016, where they got an impressive breaking number of 1115 songs . Nothing beats off than music in Scandinavian countries!

Today the 10 candidates competing for the right to represent Denmark and win their annual song competition “Dansk Melodi Grand Prix” have been announced during a press-conference held by Danmarks Radio, after an intensive time evaluating all the stuff received. The candidates were selected by a committee of industry professionals headed by music producer Cutfather.

The 10 hopefuls making up DMGP’17 final line-up are:

  • Ida Una – One
  • Thomas Ring – Vesterbro
  • Rikke Skytte – Color My World
  • Anja – Where I Am
  • Calling Mercury – Big Little Lies
  • Anthony – Smoke In My Eyes
  • René Machon – Warriors
  • Sada Vidoo – Northern Lights
  • Jeanette Bonde – Hurricane
  • Johanna Beijbom – A.S.A.P.

All 10 tracks will be released 5 days prior to the grand final, on the 20th of February.

The competition will take place on the 25th of February live from Herning’s Jyske Bank Boxen where up to aprox. 10.000-12.000 spectators will be enjoying the show. In this arena, Emmelie De Forest took the trophy over and went on to win the whole Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö 2013.

After two respective unsuccessful attempts in-a-row for the last two years, will they get to make it to the final again in Ukraine? Will one of these acts be as successful as Emmelie?

Time will tell but for now, stay tuned for all the details of this year’s Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top