Belgium selects their Eurovision 2016 entry tonight!

The final night for the Belgian national selection proccess for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest has arrived.

VRT, the flemish broadcaster in Belgium, will hold the final of Eurosong 2016 at their studios in Brussels. All 5 acts were presented on a previous show held two weeks ago, where each of them sang a cover version of a previous ESC entry. The 5 songs competing tonight, where one will be selected to compete for the country in Stockholm, were just presented a week ago. These are the following:

The show will be hosted by Belgian TV presenter Peter Van de Veire and broadcast available from 20.25 CET clicking by HERE on Éen or at WEB PLAYER. The winner will be decided by the combination of the votes from an international panel (Azerbaijan, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Montenegro, The Netherlands, Sweden and the United Kingdom) and the televoting. Although, two Eurovision personalities Christer Björkman and Hadise will keep providing feedback, such as some others like Alexander Rybak or Rhythm Inside’s author Beverly Jo Scott did in previous shows.

The reason why VRT chose these 10 countries as members of the international jury panel are explained below:

  • Sweden – Most recent winner and host of the 2016 contest
  • Hungary – Best forecaster of the winner, averaging the most points to the eventual winner since 2000
  • Ireland – Has the most victories at the Eurovision Song Contest
  • Netherlands – Has provided the highest amount of points to Belgium in the history of the contest
  • Azerbaijan – Has achieved great success in recent years at the contest with five top 5 placings in the last eight years; has never voted for Belgium
  • United Kingdom – Has awarded their top score (12 points) to the winner of the contest eight times since 2000
  • Latvia – Has awarded their top score (12 points) to the winner of the contest eight times since 2000
  • Montenegro – Has never voted for Belgium
  • France – Has provided the highest number of top scores (12 points) to Belgium in the history of the contest
  • Greece – Has always qualified to the final since the introduction of semi-finals to the contest in 2004

Laura Tesoro was the favourite of the audience last week, but we must remember that tonight these 10 nations will also have a say. Will she repeat the success and get the ticket to represent Belgium in Stockholm? Let’s find it out together!

Our official poll is opened until a few minutes before the show is starting, so let us predict the winner by casting your vote below!


About Adrián Valiente (Spain)

Adrián Valiente (Spain)

I love the Eurovision Song Contest not only because of its amazing production but it also gives me the chance to discover new music every year.
I’ve been watching it since 2002, since then I became a huge follower, mostly because of the interest TVE put on it with Rosa from Spain.
I’ve attended the contest several times in the last few years. I also attended the Junior Eurovision in Malta and Bulgaria where we lived an amazing experience thanks to all delegations and PBS/BNT organising team.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Send this to friend