Sweden: Melodifestivalen 2016 hosts announced!

SVT has just announced that Gina Dirawi along with Petra Mede, Charlotte Perrelli, Henrik Schyffert, Sarah Dawn Finer, Peter Jöback & Ola Salo and William Spetz will host the next year’s Melodifestivalen!

Gina Dirawi has already hosted Melodifestivalen in 2012 and 2013. Petra Mede was the host of Eurovision 2013, while Charlotte Perrelli represented Sweden at Eurovision 1999 winning the competition and making a come-back in 2008.

Each Melodifestivalen show will be hosted by Giga Dirawi together with one of the co-hosts mentioned below.

The dates for Melodifestivalen 2016 are as it follows:

  • Semi-Final 1: February 6, Göteborg, Scandinvium (2003–2015)
  • Semi-Final 2: February 13, Malmö, Malmö Arena (2004, 2009–2015)
  • Semi-Final 3: February 20, Norrköping, Himmelstalundshallen (2002, 2009)
  • Semi-Final 4: February 27, Gävle, Gavlerinken Arena (2007)
  • Andra chansen (Second Chance): March 5, Halmstad, Halmstad Arena (Debut)
  • Final: March 12, Stockholm, Friends Arena (2002–2015; 2002–2012 and Ericsson Globe)

The Swedish national selection for Eurovision is formed by several shows held in the biggest cities of the country. This year, Halmstad makes its debut as host city of Melodifestivalen, holding the Second Chance show (Andra Chansen).

“Melodifestivalen is the biggest event in Sweden and it’s a very popular celebration for the host cities. As a public broadcaster, it’s very important for us the encounter with all the Swedish citizens. That’s why, after fourteen years, we want to bring the show to new cities”, says the new Melodifestivalen director Anette Helenius.



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    To Top