Eurovision Eurovision 2024 Sweden

Sweden 2024: Results of Melodifestivalen’s second heat

The second heat of Melodifestivalen 2024 is over and the results are in!

Tonight’s line-up:

  1. Maria Sur – When I’m gone
    Text & music: Julie “Kill J” Aagaard , Maria Sur , Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Anderz Wrethov
  2. NorrlandEngmans Kapell
    Text & music: Larry Forsberg, Sven-Inge Sjöberg, Lennart Wastesson
  3. Dear Sara ‒ The silence after you
    Text & music: Sara Nutti, Benjamin Rosenbohm, Jonas Thander, Marcus Winther-John  

  4. C-JoeAhumma
    Text & music: Michael Didriksson, Palle Hammarlund, Diana Kambugu, Charles Koroma, Tony Malm, Twice Ice
  5. Liamoo Dragon
    Text & music: Julie “Kill J” Aagaard, LIAMOO, Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt, Anderz Wrethov
  6. Fröken Snusk Unga & Fria
    Text & music: Fröken Snusk, Sara Ryan
  • Liamoo Dragon
  • Maria Sur – When I’m gone
  • Fröken Snusk Unga & Fria
  • Dear Sara ‒ The silence after you
  • C-JoeAhumma
  • NorrlandEngmans Kapell

Number of voters: 589 162
Amount of Swedish crowns collected for Radiohjälpen: 418 604 SEK

Interesting result facts

LIAMOO, 26, went straight to the final as an artist for the fourth time in a row (plus he’s done it once as a songwriter), which means this is a tied record with Mariette, Eric Saade, Danny Saucedo, Robin Bengtsson and Jon Henrik Fjällgren. He is also the third youngest artist in the modern Melodifestivalen to reach four finals after Sanna Nielsen (2008, age 23) and Lisa Ajax (2024, age 25).

Maria Sur is now the only completely foreign act to have reached the final more than once. Danish Sanne Salomonsen (2005, seventh place in the final), American Swingfly (2011, fifth place in the final, Swedish citizen from 2018), Ukrainian Maria Sur (2023, ninth place in the final) and Norwegian Marcus & Martinus (2023, second place in the final) are the four completely foreign acts who have previously gone directly to the final from a heat. Maria, 19 years old, is also the youngest artist among the acts of 2024.

• Four of the six entries in this heat were performed by debutants, but it was the two returning artists who went straight to the final. Over the past three years, 82% of the entries going straight to the final have been returning artists.

• The final place for LIAMOO and Maria Sur means that songwriter Jimmy “Joker” Thörnfeldt has reached the final – directly or via qualifiers – with eleven entries in a row, which means that he improves his own Melodifestivalen record. He is now fourth on the list with the most DTFs of all time, despite the fact that he started competing on Melodifestivalen as late as 2021.

Fröken Snusk is the first masked solo artist to advance from a heat (previously Smash Into Pieces drummer APOC has achieved this as part of a group). The song is also the first one with only female songwriters in Melodifestivalen since 2019.

Next week, the journey continues on the 17th of February live from Växjö, where another 6 acts will compete for the golden tickets.

Source:  Result facts: Gustav Dahlander
Eurovision, National Final

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.