Lithuania: LRT opens submissions for Eurovizijos 2019 – final date announced

LRT has opened submissions for their 2019 national selection show ‘Eurovizijos’ dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka. The broadcaster has also revealed that the Lithuanian televised final will take place on February 23rd.

As in previous editions, the Lithuanian broadcaster will accept artists, groups and authors to compete in the national selection. Artists and groups from the country with or without original songs are invited to apply for ‘Eurovizijos’, while national and international authors can also submit their original compositions, which will be given to a singer or group without an original song.

All candidates can send their applications from today until December 10th. When the submission period closes, an expert committee will select the entries that will compete at the televised shows with the list of candidates being published on December 12th.

The next year’s Lithuanian national selection will be similar to previous editions, as it will be made up of several rounds and pre-recorded shows and the winner will be selected by a 50/50 mix of the voting from a professional jury panel and the audience at home. However, it has been reported that the number of shows will be reduced to eight, but this is yet to be confirmed by LRT.

You can find the full set of rules and submission form by clicking here.

Ieva Zasimauskaite represented Lithuania at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 finishing 12th at the Grand Final:

eurovision, Eurovision 2019, Lithuania

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.