Junior Eurovision

Junior Eurovision: Ukranian finalists reduced to 14, “TGIF” withdraws due to copyright infringement

NTU has announced today the withdrawal of one of the finalist songs competing at the Ukrainian final for Junior Eurovision 2015.

Alina Valuyska, who was going to perform “TGIF” (Thanks God it’s Friday) at the Ukrainian final, has been removed form the final list of participants, after breaking one of the rules in the competition. According to the paragraph five of the official guidelines for the National Selection for Junior Eurovision 2015 “The compositions (lyrics and music) must not have been commercially released and made available to the public before 1, May, 2015, and a child is the only rights-holder or co-owner of the rights of the song”.


According to NTU: “The jury of the National Selection that composed of the composer and producer Mykhailo Nekrasov, actress and director Ruslana Pysanka, choreographer Anzhela Kopotia and a young singer Anastasiya Petryk, detected the copyright infringement. The music of the song “ T.G.I.F – Thank God it’s Friday” (performed by Alina Valuiska) written by Pretty Lights and Anna Vakha are not original as was indicated in the application as the music coincides with the music of the song “So Bright feat. Eligh” written by Pretty Lights from the album “A color Map of the Sun” (2013).”

In addition to this, NTU went on to say that they have “Received neither the official confirmation that Alina Valuyska was involved in the process of writing the song, nor the documents for rights transfer from the authors Pretty Lights. Taking into consideration the fact of rules-violation, Alina Valuyska is not allowed to compete in the final of the National Selection for JESC-2015.”

These are the 14 acts that will be competing at the Ukrainian final:

  1. Hanna Katrina (13) – “Fly”
  2. Mariya Karogodska (10) – “V Sertsi Muzyka Ye”
  3. Nazar Stiniavskyi (12) – “Come-on”
  4. Group “Fresh” (12 – 14) – “Zhyvy Na Povnu”
  5. Anna Trincher (13) – “Pochny Z Sebe”
  6. Sofia Dobryvecher (14) – “My Khochemo Myru”
  7. Alisa Panchuk (12) – “Spivay”
  8. Nina Boykova (12) – “Rozmalyuy Moyi Sny”
  9. Group “Voice Land” (11-13) – “Dytynstvo”
  10. Group “Zabava” (13-15) – “Lety”
  11. Victoriya Svyatogor (15) – “Sylna. Vilna”
  12. Nastya Tkachuk (12) – “Moya Zemlya”
  13. Yarina Taras – “Povir u Chudesa” (Malenke Sertse Zminyt Svit)
  14. Sofia Yaremova (13) – “Salsa”

The Ukrainian national final 2015 will take place on August 22 in Kiev’s Beach Complex “Olmeca Plage”. The winner will represent Ukraine at Junior Eurovision 2015 to take place on November 21 in Sofia (Bulgaria).



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    To Top