Junior Eurovision

Junior Eurovision 2016 to take place today!

Today the 14th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest will take place live from the Mediterranean Conference Centre located in Valletta, Malta!

17 talented stars aged between 9 and 14 years will compete at tonight’s show for first, second and third prizes. The running order is as it follows:

  1. Ireland: Zena Donnelly – Bríce Ar Bhríce
  2. Armenia: Anahit & Mary – Tarber
  3. Albania: Klesta Qehaja – Besoj
  4. Russia: Water of Life Project – Water of Life
  5. Malta: Christina Magrin – Parachute
  6. Bulgaria: Lidia Ganeva – Magical Day
  7. F.Y.R. Macedonia: Martija Stanojkovic – Love Will Lead Our Way
  8. Poland: Olivia Wieczorek – Nie zapomnij
  9. Belarus: Alexander Minyonok – Musyka Moih Pobed
  10. Ukraine: Sofia Rol – Planer Craves For Love
  11. Italy: Fiamma Boccia – Cara Mamma – Dear Mom
  12. Serbia: Dunja Jeličić – Uh La La La
  13. Israel: Shir & Tim – Follow My Heart
  14. Australia: Alexa Curtis – We Are
  15. The Netherlands: Kisses – Kisses & Dancin’
  16. Cyprus: George Michaelides – Dance Floor
  17. Georgia: Mariam Mamadashvili – Mzeo

Format changes and 100% jury decision:

During the Eurovision week, EBU announced several changes that will be materialised today. The show will be broadcast at 16:00 CET considered as a family prime time so children can watch the show with their parents. The age range has changed to 9-14 to encourage more boys to take part despite the fact that the competing boys are 13 years old. Moreover, the results will be decided by a 100% jury decision.

The overall score will be decided by a 50-50 mix of professional jury and kids jury from every participating country. For the first time, however, the competition will include a panel of experts that will be allocated as an additional country, each one. This panel of judges will be made up of  Mads Grimstad of Universal Music, expert show producer, Christer Bjorkman, the man behind the Swedish selection for Eurovision, Melodifestivalen and Jedward, the Irish representatives at Eurovision 2011 and 2012.

This means the voting time will have three different parts, the results from the senior judges of all 17 countries, the results of each member of the jury panel, that will make up the vote of three more countries; and the results of the kids’ jury that will be announced at the end as the televoting results of this year’s Eurovision.

Guest acts for today’s show:

The guest acts for this year’s Junior Eurovision will be Destiny, the winner of Junior Eurovision 2015, and Poli Genova, Bulgarian representative at this year’s Eurovision. Poli Genova, who was also the host of Junior Eurovision 2015, has represented her homeland twice, achieving a successful 4th place in Stockholm. Moreover, Jedward, judges of the competition and Eurovision former representatives, will perform their song “Hologram” at the interval act.

At today’s show, all 17 participants will also join on stage to perform the common song along with Destiny during the interval act.

Hosted by Ben Camille and Valerie Vella, you can follow the Junior Eurovision Song Contest today at 16.00 CET on junioreurovision.tv and below:

Junior Eurovision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.