Eurovision Eurovision 2019 Sweden

John Lundvik to sing for Sweden at Eurovision 2019

And Benjamin Ingrosso was there to hand the prize over!

Melodifestivalen 2019 has just come to an end after 6 weeks touring around Sweden and after an exciting show live from Stockholm’s Friends Arena, Sweden has now selected the act that they will send to send to Tel Aviv for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest: it will be John Lundvik with “Too Late For Love”.

The entire show, the four previous semifinals and Second Chance round held by SVT, was introduced to the audience by Sarah Dawn Finer, Eric Saade, Kodjo Akolor and Marika Carlsson, who also performed on stage a rendition of Lady Gaga’s Always Remember Us This Way. Benjamin Ingrosso, as well as Eurovision royalties Dana International & Charlotte Perrelli, performed on stage their Eurovision entries and for the first time, ‘Diva To Diva’, a track created especially for the show.

The 12 finalists who competed to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018 were:

  1. Norrsken – Jon Henrik Fjällgren
  2. Torn – Lisa Ajax
  3. Hello – Mohombi
  4. Victorious – Lina Hedlund
  5. On My Own – Bishara
  6. Ashes to Ashes – Anna Bergendahl
  7. Chasing Rivers – Nano
  8. Hold You – Hanna Ferm & LIAMOO
  9. I Do Me – Malou Prytz
  10. Too Late For Love – John Lundvik
  11. Not With Me – Wiktoria
  12. I Do – Arvingarna

Take a look at how the overall result looked like at the end of the show:

A total of twelve acts performed tonight. Eight of them were chosen from four previous semifinals, whilst the remaining four semifinalists were chosen from the Andra Chansen (or Second-Chance show) last Saturday. The votes collected from the televote as well as those awarded by an international jury panel, formed by 8 countries, decided the winner. These were: Portugal, Austria, Australia, Cyprus, France, Finland, United Kingdom, Israel.

What do you think of the Swedish choice? Are they in it to win the contest in May and improve Ingrosso’s 7th place in Lisbon last year?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.