Denmark decides for Kiev, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix tonight!

Eurovision fans, get ready for the party because another Baltic nation is choosing the act who will represent  the country at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine. Danmarks Radio has given a step higher again by taking the contest back to Herning, where Emmelie De Forest won and eventually went on to conquer Europe’s hearts in 2013 and bring the contest to Copenhagen. Will this be a lucky one for them again?

10 acts, which have been internally selected by the broadcaster itself and a committee of industry professionals that was headed by music producer Cutfather, will perform on stage:

  • Ida Una – One
  • Thomas Ring – Vesterbro
  • Rikke Skytte – Color My World
  • Anja – Where I Am
  • Calling Mercury – Big Little Lies
  • Anthony – Smoke In My Eyes
  • René Machon – Warriors
  • Sada Vidoo – Northern Lights
  • Jeanette Bonde – Hurricane
  • Johanna Beijbom – A.S.A.P.

DR released the songs back on Monday for the first time, thus fans could make up their first impressions. Hot fan-favorites seem to be Ida, Anja Nissen, Sada Vidoo, Jeanette and Johanna ,who is currently leading DR’s poll on their official site.

You can listen to the competing songs by clicking HERE.

The show will be introduced to the audience by Danish TV personality, Annette Heick and former Lighthouse X member Johannes Nymark, from Herning’s Jyske Bank Boxen, which can hold up to more than 10.000 people. 2000 Eurovision Song Contest winner act Olsen Brothers will also be performing as invited guests.

The winner of tonight’s show will be determined over two rounds of voting. In the first round, the top songs based on the combination of votes from a public vote and a five-member jury panel will qualify to the super-final. In the super-final, the winner will be determined as well by the combination of votes from the public and the jury panel. The jury panel will consist of five Danish Eurovision fans: Mogens Dalsgaard Myklebust, Mette Thorning Svendsen, Peter Hansen, Morten Kaiser and Søren Toft.

You can follow and watch DMGP 2017 either on DR’s official streaming site or on our multi-window platform from 20:00 CET onwards.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

To Top