Alexander Rybak will represent Norway in Lisbon

Alexander Rybak has just won MGP 2018 and will represent Norway at the Eurovision Song Contest. He will perform the song «That’s How You Write a Song» on 10th May in Lisbon.

Alexander Rybak is not only a former Eurovision representative, but also a record winner, as he achieved a big victory when the contest took place in Moscow in 2009. The Norwegian/Belarusian singer got the crystal microphone with his song ‘Fairytale’:

Ten candidates competed in the Norwegian final, but none could beat the king of Eurovision 2009:

  1. Stella & Alexandra – «You Got Me»
  2. Aleksander Walmann – «Talk to the Hand»
  3. Ida Maria – «Scandilove»
  4. NICOLINE – «Light Me Up»
  5. Tom Hugo – «I Like I Like I Like»
  6. Charla K – «Stop the Music»
  7. Alejandro Fuentes – «Tengo Otra»
  8. Vidar Villa – «Moren din»
  9. Rebecca – «Who We Are»
  10. Alexander Rybak – «That’s How You Write a Song»

A combination of an international jury panel and the public vote decided the winner of MGP 2018. Following the first round of voting, the top four acts with the most votes made it through to a second round:

  • Alexander Rybak – «That’s How You Write a Song»
  • Rebecca – «Who We Are»
  • Stella & Alexandra – «You Got Me»
  • Aleksander Walmann – «Talk to the Hand»

After the second round, the top two advanced to the superfinal, where the winner was decided by the audience:

  • Rebecca – «Who We Are»
  • Alexander Rybak – «That’s How You Write a Song»

What do you think about the winner of this year’s Norwegian selection for Eurovision? Are you happy to see Rybak back in the game?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.