43 countries to take part at Eurovision 2016, Bulgaria and Croatia are back!

The news took everyone by surprise this morning despite the rumours that were already stated online. Earlier today, is very happy to announce that no less than 43 countries will take part at next year’s favourite TV Show in Stockholm (Sweden) on May 10th, 12,th and 14th.

EBU is delighted to welcome back the delegations from Bosnia & Herzegovina, Ukraine and two of the most awaited ones by the fans – Croatia and Bulgaria. Yesterday, Bulgarian broadcaster BNT took this decision after successfully hosting the Junior Eurovision Song Contest last week and getting the required necessary funds to accomplish its participation. Despite it’s apparently negative response to a come-back, Croatia is also back to the contest, moreover Bosnian BHRT confirmed yesterday on its press conference that ”all countries in the region are taking part”.

As they announced on it , Dalal, Deen and Anna Rucner are representing the country after their 4 year-absence. Croatia and Bulgaria are just about to announce the procedure they will follow to pick their next representative, in Bulgaria all eyes are on this year’s JESC host, Poli Genova, who stated on our interview that she is not still done with Eurovision.

Australia and Ukraine are also back. The first one has been awarded the right after their 5th place with Guy Sebastian, although it is yet to announce whether they will be a permanent member. Ukraine faced some economical and political problems last year that made its participation non-viable.

Full line-up for Eurovision 2016 looks as it follows:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (SBS)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (İTV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina (BHRT)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Czech Republic (ČT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (France Télévisions)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Germany (NDR)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SMRTV)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Jon Ola Sand, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest said, “We are proud to see broadcasters from 43 countries sign up for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. We have put a lot of effort into bringing together as many countries as possible and this number reflects that. To see all these different countries and cultures come together, despite the challenges Europe and the world face today, shows the power of music and the enduring appeal of the Eurovision Song Contest.”

Turkish broadcaster TRT confirmed that the country will not return to the Eurovision Song Contest in 2016. The EBU maintains an open dialogue with all Member Broadcasters in the event that those which do not currently participate in the Eurovision Song Contest may do so in the future.



    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    To Top